Testimonials:

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
 FANTASTIC!!!!!

Atmospheric, warm, beautiful place. would definetly stay here again. easy to sort out the booking and clear insttructions for our large group. thank you

 Testimonial_for_testimonial_page.jpg

"Fab and quirky Country Cottage"


Reviewed 26th November 2014

 
We loved this cottage! The bedrooms in particular are full of character and the open fire kept us cosy in the evenings. The kitchen was fully equipped and the cottage had good Wi-fI and Sky TV. We were a group of 8 adults and 2 children and there was plenty of room for us all - with two living rooms, two dinning spaces, and 6 bedrooms (4 doubles, 1 twin room and 1 with bunk beds) the space suited us perfectly. The location is great too - quiet countryside location yet only a 5 minute drive to the M1.
Thanks Helen!

 
"Excellent cottage for Groups"

 

"These guests stayed over the May 2015 bank holiday weekend"


Hi Helen

I wished to email you to thank you for an absolutely wonderful stay at your cottage! It's picture postcard perfect and the children were to excited exploring the house and playing endless games of hide and seek! The garden is also fantastic for kids and we all had a great time. Woburn Safari park was excellent and when it was a bit wet on the Sunday we went to the 'splash zone' at Gullivers Land which is lots of fun for little ones. 

We felt very welcome at the cottage and all the extra touches such as tea and coffee and cooking oil really helped to extend that feeling of welcomeness. It's very well set up with pots pans and kiddie proof cups and bowls which is so helpful!

We were all very impressed with the cottage and the idyllic setting and fantastic location for access to the motorway.

Many thanks - I am already recommending to my friends and hope to come back again for another stay in the future as there is still so much to see in MK.

 

Kind regards

Mo

 

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014 

Our group of ten stayed in the cottage in September 2014. The property itself is lovely, so quirky and full of characterful. It was so exciting when we arrived, exploring all the rooms. It was so much larger than we expected, plenty of space for a big group to spread out our all eat /sit together.

The property is spacious, clean and tidy. The rooms are full of character and simply furnished. The kitchen is well equipped and had everything we needed for a long weekend. The lounge was plenty big enough for us all to sit together. The garden is also beautiful and prefect for sitting outside, barbecuing etc.

The information provided by Helen is comprehensive, from how to light the open fire, location of local pubs ... to the availability of a baby sitting service!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage. The price is very reasonable for a lovely village location. We would definitely book this cottage again.

"What a fabulous, charming cottage"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 

We went for a 40th birthday celebration with both immediate families. We had a wonderful time, the cottage is a beautiful old place. The fun began when we arrived and explored. The place just seemed to keep getting bigger! I won't spoil the surprise, but anyone staying there will have a large grin on their faces upon looking around all three floors. The kitchen is very well appointed, it has all you need to fit in and feed a party of 11, and probably a couple more! There are 2 bathrooms and one cloakroom, so more than enough facilities.
And the garden is large, well maintained, and has a BBQ and a play frame for children.
Thanks for a wonderful visit!!

 
5 of 5 stars

Brilliant weekend retreat for a group of families

  Reviewed July 30, 2014 

We had such a lovely weekend at Yew Tree Cottage. We were a group of 8 adults and 5 children and comfortably fit in the maze of rooms and bedrooms around this quirky and characterful house. The garden is so perfect for young children although there is access out to the drive and therefore the road from the garden so children should not be left unattended. The kitchen is a great size, full of equipment - everything we needed and more. The bedrooms were interesting - some very wonky floors and tiny doorways - but this added to the overall character (although my husband at 6'5'' did have a crick in his neck after the three days!!) Whilst it didn't necessarily sparkle with shiny new fixtures and fittings we all felt instantly at home here, and felt like we got lots for our money. We were lucky with the weather and didn't need to leave the cottage apart from a short drive to nearby tesco to restock the cupboards. Communication with the owner was brilliant and she couldn't have been more helpful before, during and after our stay. Would we come again? Absolutely.

Beautiful, cosy yet spacious cottage with tons character!” Reviewed January 6, 2014

Together with a group of friends I spent a long weekend in Yew Tree Cottage hosting our annual Christmas get–together and dinner that we have been holding for 9 years. The
cottage was absolutely superb. Helen (the owner) was also terrific – responding promptly and thoroughly to our questions about the kitchen, its equipment and even bought us some
Yorkshire Pudding trays for our roast! The cottage is a labyrinth of charming, comfortable rooms that made our stay a memorable one. Would highly recommend to anyone!

 

Christmas 2013

Dear Helen, Thanks for the security deposit refund. Sorry I haven't responded before now, but I must have picked up a bug somewhere ( probably grandchildren) and have not felt like doing much at all since New Year. Anyway, yes we had a lovely time. Thanks for leaving all the festive items for us - they were much enjoyed and we were most impressed with the equipment in the kitchen. Everything that one could imagine. We certainly would consider staying again Hope you have a very successful 2014 and thanks once again,

Regards, John

Emily McDonald stayed over New Year 2013:

We stayed at Yew Tree Cottage over New Years Eve for a cosy retreat and it didn't disappoint. It's a beautiful and quirky house, full of character (well worth the few
bumped heads on the low door frames!)

Really well located - only 15mins drive from Milton Keynes train station but still situated in a nice quiet country village.

It's a shame not everyone can fit round one table to eat (there are two tables in two separate rooms) but other than that the kitchen was brilliantly equipped with
everything you could need. We didn't have kids with us but the play area in the garden looked like good fun! The bedrooms are basic but do the job and the booking
process was easy from start to finish. We'll certainly be recommending Yew Tree Cottage to friends and family'.

 

“Beautiful cottage.” Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a beautiful cottage with so much character. Everything that we needed was provided, going over and above what we expected. The kids loved playing both around the house and in the garden.

Helen, the owner, got back to my emails quickly and was always extremely polite and helpful.

The local pub, the Carrington Arms, is a very short walk away and has a good selection of wines and beers and a good sized beer garden.
Lots to do and see in the area for both adults and children. Nothing at all bad to say about the place.

01/10/2013 - "Really loved the house".

Hi Helen,

Thanks for everything. We had a great week-end and really loved the house.
I left one front door key back where we found it in the combination locker
by the post box.

We did see a lot of Bernard and found him adorable. He got a lot of
attention from us all and loved it.

Hope you find everything in the cottage is OK. We had a clean round and put
everything back where we found it.

Regards,

David.

18/08/2013 "Beautiful, well equipped, period cottage"

We had a fairly large group visiting Yew Tree Cottage. At most, 10 adults and 3 children.

First impression is excellent. The cottage is beautiful! Inside it is clean, sympathetically decorated with modern furnishings. The floors are wonky and the doors different sizes, but it all adds to the character of the property.

The house itself is very well equipped, and child friendly. Especially the garden. The children thoroughly enjoyed the play equipment provided. The kitchen contains much more than I would normally expect. It's also nicely situated within walking distance of the local pub, and lots of public bridleways with fabulous views over the countryside.

It's also very convenient for Willen Lakes, Gulliver's land and Centre MK. We all really enjoyed our stay at Yew Tree and would love to visit again.

05/08/2013 This cottage is a total bargain, it's got the loveliest garden and interior. Location wise, it was great for us, five minutes from Willen lakes and clay pigeon shooting. It's so easy to find, but when your there it feels like the middle of nowhere, the local pub has excellent food too. Couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough!

29/07/2013

Helen Thornton and her friends stayed at the cottage 25th - 28th July 2013
- 6 adults and 4 children in the group

Hi Helen,

Thank you for a fantastic stay at Yew Tree Cottage. We had an amazing time
and the cottage was gorgeous. It was so well stocked too! Everything had
been thought of. We hope we've left it clean and tidy enough for you.

We hope to stay again in the future and will definitely recommend the
property to friends.

Many thanks,
Helen

Anna and her friends stayed at Yew Tree Cottage 23-26 August 2013

We had a fantastic stay at yew tree cottage with x10 of us all in our 20's
and didn't get bored!! lots of games and fun things to do even though it
unfortunately rained in august. The local pub had amazing food for my
birthday celebrations. The house is extraordinary and had a kitchen to die
for!

Thank you soooo much for making my birthday a special one helen! Anna xx